Ah, this is refreshing.  I don’t mean to be a Mozilla fanboy (it just so happens to be that everything they do I love), but today the first public release of Songbird was made available.  Surprisingly, I didn’t pick up the beta back when I first learned about it earlier this year even though I wanted to.  I can honestly say that I’m somewhat ashamed of myself for missing out on a such a spectacular product earlier in its lifecycle.  Songbird is an alternative to such music players as iTunes and Windows Media Player and Aaron Boodman from greasemonkey even said that “Songbird promises to be the Firefox of media players”.  After only an hour of fiddling I’m completely confidant in saying that it IS the Firefox of media players.  Look out iTunes!  Check after the jump for my thoughts and ramblings on Songbird, as well as the link to get yourself some bird… of songs?  … and rediscover music all over again.

Not only does Songbird play back all your media files, but through the ever-expanding catalog of add-ons and extensions, you can sync music to your portable devices (I’m lookin’ at you iPod), view concert dates in your area for the artists in your library, view Flickr photostreams of the currently playing artist, purchase and download songs from popular stores (iTunes, amazon, etc) and view lyrics of the currently playing song.  And that’s only the tip of the iceberg… knowing the Mozilla developer community, there will be an endless supply of add-ons by the end of the week.  My top wish?  An embeddable version of digsby that retains all functionality of the stand-alone desktop app.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that since Songbird is built on the Firefox framework (gecko rendering engine included), you can use its simple tabbed interface to browse the web.  It even supports saved passwords, browsing history, cookies, and javascript… basically, anything that Firefox can do, Songbird can be tacked with the ‘me too’ tag.  I’m excited to finally have an alternative to WMP and iTunes for a stable and useful media player, especially one that “one-ups” everything else in such a big way.

Some guy named plasticmadness on the GetSatisfaction forums made a button that I just couldn’t resist stealing.  So click the button to go ahead and get Songbird:

 

getSongbird

getSongbird

