I’m very excited!  I just ordered a camera on the internets, and hopefully it should arrive in two days, which will give me plenty of time to practice with it before I go off to China.  It will be great to finally own a digital camera so that I don’t have to rely on poop disposable cameras like when I went to Mexico.  There were so many fantastic pictures that I took that didn’t turn out and that made me a sad panda.

This is the camera on the left…. look at that friggin’ lens!!  It makes me all squirmy thinking about this baby.  It’s the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5K, and it’s somewhere between a standard point-and-shoot and a DSLR … The thing that really drew me in and sold me on this camera was the ability to take extended exposure shots.  While it may not allow exposures of any time that you desire it still provides exposures longer than that of a standard point-and-shoot.  Plus, look at that lens!  It offers a full 10x Optical Zoom and then an enhanced optical zoom (not digital) that extends the zoom to 16.9X at a reduced resolution.  This feature is called extended optical zoom and is different from the digital zoom.  While the camera does feature digital zoom, that means nothing to me because pfft on digital zoom.  Oh, and did you look at that lens?!  That thing would shank you in prison if you looked at it sideways.  Simply nasty.

Other features worth mentioning: Digital Red Eye Correction, MEGA Optical Image Stabilization (using Gyros!~), Face Recognition and tracking for up to 15 faces, 1280 x 720 HD Video (@ 30 fps) WITH zoom, HD A/V Out, 28mm wide-angle setting, 9.1 Megapixels, plus have you seen the lens yet?!  OMFG I can’t wait to get my hands on this thing and start playing!  You can expect an onslaught of meaningless, empty posts containing nothing but pictures.  YAY!

