I hope you caught that, but just in case you missed the title above I’ll repeat it, adding emphasis. Six showers. Forty eight hours. I have taken exactly six showers in the past two days. I can’t even begin to describe how much I’ve been sweating during my time in Taiwan, so instead you’ll simply have to infer from those numbers how much my body has perspired. This is not a joke, nor is this a test. Actually, I lied — this is kind of a test. I’m trying out my first “abbreviated” post that is not necessarily a full write-up but will help to keep you up to date on my current travels. Let me know your thoughts, or if you prefer the truck loads of words that I usually dump on you in my write-ups, and ONLY the truck-loads of words.

I’ve never really considered myself to be much of a sweaty guy. I had never broken a sweat until college when I picked up my first set of dumbbells (I’m not even kidding here). Even then, when I would go to the gym or exercise outside it was more of a light glistening that I would take on, instead of becoming a full-blown sweaty mess. I recall one time while I was living in Erie that I went to the Harborcreek YMCA for a Spin class. This was the first and the only time that I can remember the feeling of a bead of sweat running down my arm. It was a strange and foreign feeling that I’ll never forget.

Now I have a new experience, which will easily supersede that previous memory for the rest of my life. Yesterday I was taken to what was described as the best Sushi restaurant in all of Taiwan. We stood in line for about an hour and fifteen minutes, and it was extremely hot and humid outside (on par with North Carolina conditions). Even as I stood in the shade under an umbrella, I still had multiple beads–nay, bullets–of sweat dripping down my body. I felt like a sieve. My legs, my back, my chest and my arms were absolutely pouring salty liquid out of every possible sweat gland and I slowly but thoroughly drenched my clothing with the acrid substance.

After the first hour I had begun to lose all faith in humanity. I could not understand for the life of me why anybody would wait for such a long time in line to eat sushi on a tiny island like Taiwan. There should literally be a sushi restaurant on every block with the ocean never more than an hour away, regardless of where you are on the island. After we sat down inside, my host Michael ordered this for me and my brain completely asploded:

This was by far the greatest sushi that I’ve ever had in my entire life. I’ll admit that I don’t consider myself to be sushi connoisseur by any stretch of the imagination, but I have eaten a fairly respectable variety of sushi. When I traveled to China in 2009 I had an unforgettable sushi experience that I was absolutely enamored by, and I’ve eaten sushi in both the western and eastern coasts of the United States (and even in the desert of Arizona). I would say that I at least have a refined taste for quality sushi, but certainly wouldn’t call myself an expert.

With that being said, this was hands-down the best sushi that I’ve ever eaten. This was also my first experience with Uni (Sea Urchin), which is the yellow paste-looking substance above the glob of fresh green Wasabi, which was also the freshest and most flavorful Wasabi that I’ve ever tasted. The Uni was incredible, and has now surpassed Unagi (Freshwater Eel) as my favorite kind of Sushi.

Now I present to you, dear reader a challenge. Aside from the Uni, which I’ve already identified, go ahead and try to guess what other types of Sashimi (raw fish) you can spot and correctly identify in the picture above (click to embiggen). It’s harder than you think! Sound off in the comments with your best guesses.

